Uncle Romeo Vanya Juliet

A.R.T./New York Theatres | September 14 - October 28

A Mash-Up of Uncle Vanya by Anton Chekhov
and Romeo & Juliet by William Shakespeare
Directed by Eric Tucker
Uncle Vanya adapted by Kimberly Pau

A.R.T./New York Theatres Mezzanine Theatre
502 W. 53rd St., New York, NY 10019

Experience two Classics in one sitting!
“As I began preparing to present the two plays in rep, I saw an opportunity to display their strong thematic similarities in a new way. Both plays showcase characters experiencing longing for love at different times in their lives. In Uncle Vanya, they are looking back saying how did I get here? In Romeo & Juliet, they are looking forward saying how can I get there? By watching these epic classics side-by-side within the same sitting, the audience can follow the doubling actors on a journey through a landscape where both worlds intersect, revealing the characters’ varying experiences of love, loss and longing at various milestones in their lives.”
Eric Tucker, “America’s best classical stage director”
(Wall Street Journal)
Running time: 2 1/2 hours including intermission.

 

Click on the performance time below to purchase:
Friday, September 14 7pm
Sunday, September 16 7pm
Tuesday, September 18 7pm
Wednesday, September 19 2pm
Thursday, September 20 7pm
Friday, September 21 7pm
Saturday, September 22 2pm
Saturday, September 22 7pm
Sunday, September 23 2pm
Wednesday, September 26 2pm
Thursday, September 27 7pm
Friday, September 28 7pm
Saturday, September 29 2pm
Saturday, September 29 7pm
Sunday, September 30 2pm
Tuesday, October 2 7pm
Wednesday, October 3 2pm
Thursday, October 4 7pm
Friday, October 5 7pm
Saturday, October 6 2pm
Saturday, October 6 7pm
Sunday, October 7 2pm
Tuesday, October 9 7pm
Wednesday, October 10 2pm
Thursday, October 11 7pm
Friday, October 12 7pm
Saturday, October 13 2pm
Saturday, October 13 7pm
Sunday, October 14 2pm
Tuesday, October 16 7pm
Wednesday, October 17 2pm
Thursday, October 18 7pm
Friday, October 19 7pm
Saturday, October 20 2pm
Saturday, October 20 7pm
Sunday, October 21 2pm
Tuesday, October 23 7pm
Wednesday, October 24 2pm
Thursday, October 25 7pm
Friday, October 26 7pm
Saturday, October 27 2pm
Saturday, October 27 7pm
Sunday, October 28 2pm